2014 Summer Project Week

From NAMIC
Jump to: navigation, search
Home < 2014 Summer Project Week

Back to Events

PW-MIT2014.png

Welcome to the web page for the 19th Project Week!

opening session

opening session

Summary

The most recent project week was the 19th event in the series. It was held June 23-27, 2014 at MIT. It recorded 81 registered attendees, who worked on 66 projects. These attendees represented 21 academic sites (Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Massachusetts General Hospital, MIT, WPI, University of Utah, University of Iowa, University of Michigan, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Queen’s University, University of Sydney, University Magna Graecia of Catanzaro, Old Dominion University, University of CA San Diego, Johns Hopkins University, Stony Brook University, University of Washington, NIH, Seattle Children's Research Institute, University College Cork, Ben-Gurion University, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre) and 4 companies (GE Global Research, Kitware, Fraunhofer MEVIS, Isomics Inc).

A summary of all past Project Events.

Logistics

  • Dates: June 23-27, 2014.
  • Location: MIT, Cambridge, MA.

Agenda

Time Monday, June 23 Tuesday, June 24 Wednesday, June 25 Thursday, June 26 Friday, June 27
Project Presentations NA-MIC Update Day IGT Day Reporting Day
8:30am Breakfast Breakfast Breakfast Breakfast (Stata Building 4th Floor R&D Common Dining Area)
9am-12pm 10-11:30am Breakout Session:
DICOM (Steve Pieper)

Star

11am-12noon Breakout Session: Slicer for users (Ron Kikinis)

9:00-10:30am Tutorial Contest Presentations (Sonia Pujol)

Grier Rooms
----------------------------------------
10am-12pm: Breakout Session:
Image-Guided Therapy - Neurosurgery (Alexandra Golby, Tina Kapur)
Star

10am-12pm: Project Progress Updates (Stata Building 4th Floor R&D Common Dining Area)


----------------------------------------
12pm Tutorial Contest Winner Announcement (Stata Building 4th Floor R&D Common Dining Area)

12pm-1pm Lunch Lunch Lunch Lunch Lunch boxes; Adjourn by 1:30pm
1pm-5:30pm 1-1:05pm: Ron Kikinis: Welcome

Grier Rooms
----------------------------------------
1:05-3:30pm: Project Introductions (all Project Leads) Grier Rooms
----------------------------------------
3:30-4:30pm Slicer4 Extensions (Jean-Christophe Fillion-Robin)
Grier Room (Left)

1-3pm: Breakout Session:
QIICR (Andrey Fedorov)

Kiva

1-2:30pm: Breakout Session:
Contours (Adam Rankin, Csaba Pinter)

Kiva

1-3pm: Breakout Session:
Image-Guided Therapy - Prostate Interventions (Clare Tempany, Noby Hata)

Star
----------------------------------------

5:30pm Adjourn for the day Adjourn for the day Adjourn for the day Adjourn for the day

Background

Project Week is a hands on activity -- programming using the open source NA-MIC Kit, algorithm design, and clinical application -- that has become one of the major events in the NA-MIC, NCIGT, and NAC calendars. It is held in the summer at MIT, typically the last week of June, and a shorter version is held in Salt Lake City in the winter, typically the second week of January.

Active preparation begins 6-8 weeks prior to the meeting, when a kick-off teleconference is hosted by the NA-MIC Engineering, Dissemination, and Leadership teams, the primary hosts of this event. Invitations to this call are sent to all NA-MIC members, past attendees of the event, as well as any parties who have expressed an interest in working with NA-MIC. The main goal of the kick-off call is to get an idea of which groups/projects will be active at the upcoming event, and to ensure that there is sufficient NA-MIC coverage for all. Subsequent teleconferences allow the hosts to finalize the project teams, consolidate any common components, and identify topics that should be discussed in breakout sessions. In the final days leading upto the meeting, all project teams are asked to fill in a template page on this wiki that describes the objectives and plan of their projects.

The event itself starts off with a short presentation by each project team, driven using their previously created description, and allows all participants to be acquainted with others who are doing similar work. In the rest of the week, about half the time is spent in breakout discussions on topics of common interest of subsets of the attendees, and the other half is spent in project teams, doing hands-on programming, algorithm design, or clinical application of NA-MIC kit tools. The hands-on activities are done in 10-20 small teams of size 3-5, each with a mix of experts in NA-MIC kit software, algorithms, and clinical. To facilitate this work, a large room is setup with several tables, with internet and power access, and each team gathers on a table with their individual laptops, connects to the internet to download their software and data, and is able to work on their projects. On the last day of the event, a closing presentation session is held in which each project team presents a summary of what they accomplished during the week.

Please make sure that you are on the na-mic-project-week mailing list

Projects

Image-Guided Therapy

Huntington's Disease

TBI

Stroke

Cardiac

Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, Lung, Chest

Head and Neck Cancer / Radiotherapy

QIICR

Feature Extraction

Additional Brain Image Analysis

Slicer4 Extensions

TMJOA RO1 - Collaboration with NAMIC

  • TMJOA (Francois Budin, Beatriz Paniagua, Lucia Cevidanes, Nicole Aucoin, Steve Pieper, Jean-Christophe Fillion-Robin, Alex Yarmarkovich)

Infrastructure

Logistics

  • Dates: June 23-27, 2014.
  • Location: Stata Center / RLE MIT.
  • REGISTRATION: https://www.regonline.com/namic2014summerprojectweek. Please note that as you proceed to the checkout portion of the registration process, RegOnline will offer you a chance to opt into a free trial of ACTIVEAdvantage -- click on "No thanks" in order to finish your Project Week registration.
  • Registration Fee: $300.
  • Hotel: Similar to previous years, no rooms have been blocked in a particular hotel.
  • Room sharing: If interested, add your name to the list: here

Registrants

Do not add your name to this list - it is maintained by the organizers based on your paid registration. (Please click here to register.)

  1. Hugo Aerts :: Dana Farber Cancer Institute :: hugo_aerts at dfci.harvard.edu
  2. Nassim Alikacem :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: Nassim.Alikacem at gmail.com
  3. Parth Amin :: Wentworth Institute of Technology :: aminp at wit.edu
  4. Peter Anderson :: Retired :: traneus at verizon.net
  5. Nicole Aucoin :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: nicole at bwh.harvard.edu
  6. Eva Breininger :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: ebreininger at partners.org
  7. Francois Budin :: University of North Carolina :: fbudin at unc.edu
  8. Saskia Camps :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: saskiacamps at gmail.com
  9. Lucia Cevidanes :: University of Michigan :: luciacev at umich.edu
  10. Laurent Chauvin :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: lchauvin at bwh.harvard.edu
  11. Kanglin Chen :: Fraunhofer MEVIS, Bremen :: kanglin.chen at mevis.fraunhofer.de
  12. Adrian Dalca :: Massachusetts Institute of Technology :: adalca at MIT.EDU
  13. Alexander Derksen :: Fraunhofer MEVIS, Bremen :: alexander.derksen at mevis.fraunhofer.de
  14. Maxime Desplanques :: Massachusetts General Hospital :: maxime.desplanques at cnao.it
  15. Fotis Drakopoulos :: Old Dominion University :: fdrakopo at gmail.com
  16. Sneha Durgapal :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: durgapalsneha at gmail.com
  17. Andriy Fedorov :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: fedorov at bwh.harvard.edu
  18. Jean-Christophe Fillion-Robin :: Kitware, Inc. :: jchris.fillionr at kitware.com
  19. James Fishbaugh :: University of Utah :: jfishbau at sci.utah.edu
  20. Jessica Forbes :: University of Iowa :: jessica-forbes at uiowa.edu
  21. Polina Golland :: Massachusetts Institute of Technology :: polina at csail.mit.edu
  22. Jeffrey Grethe :: UCSD :: jgrethe at ncmir.ucsd.edu
  23. Rola Harmouche :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: rolaharmouche at gmail.com
  24. Nobuhiko Hata :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: hata at bwh.harvard.edu
  25. Jayender Jagadeesan :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: jayender at bwh.harvard.edu
  26. Saurabh Jain :: Johns Hopkins University :: saurabh at cis.jhu.edu
  27. Hans Johnson :: University of Iowa :: hans-johnson at uiowa.edu
  28. Jayashree Kalpathy-Cramer :: Massachusetts General Hospital :: kalpathy at nmr.mgh.harvard.edu
  29. Tina Kapur :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: tkapur at bwh.harvard.edu
  30. Ron Kikinis :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: kikinis at bwh.harvard.edu
  31. Eun Young Regina Kim :: University of Iowa :: eunyoung-kim at uiowa.edu
  32. Franklin King :: Queen's University :: franklin.king at queensu.ca
  33. Tassilo Klein :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: TJKlein at bwh.harvard.edu
  34. Farukh Kohistani :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: kohistan at bc.edu
  35. Ivan Kolesov :: Stony Brook University :: ivan.kolesov1 at gmail.com
  36. Robin Kouver :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: r.kouver at gmail.com
  37. Andras Lasso :: Queen's University :: lasso at queensu.ca
  38. Yangming Li :: University of Washington :: ymli81 at uw.edu
  39. Sidong Liu :: University of Sydney :: sliu at bwh.harvard.edu
  40. Siqi Liu :: University of Sydney :: sliu4512 at uni.sydney.edu.au
  41. Bradley Lowekamp :: National Library of Medicine :: blowekamp at mail.nih.gov
  42. Murat Maga :: Seattle Children's Research Institute :: maga at uw.edu
  43. Katie Mastrogiacomo :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: kmast at bwh.harvard.edu
  44. Alireza Mehrtash :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: mehrtash at bwh.harvard.edu
  45. Dominik Meier :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: meier at bwh.harvard.edu
  46. James Miller :: General Electric :: millerjv at ge.com
  47. Luiz Otavio Murta :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: lmurta at partners.org
  48. Vivek Narayan :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: narayan.vivek9 at gmail.com
  49. Pietro Nardelli :: University College Cork :: pietro at bwh.harvard.edu
  50. Isaiah Norton :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: isaiah.norton at gmail.com
  51. Jorge Onieva :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: jorgeonieva at gmail.com
  52. Yangming Ou :: Massachusetts General Hospital :: yangming.ou at uphs.upenn.edu
  53. Danielle Pace :: Massachusetts Institute of Technology :: dfpace at mit.edu
  54. Keryn Palmer :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: kpalmer5 at partners.org
  55. Nirav Patel :: Worcester Polytechnic Institute :: napatel at wpi.edu
  56. Tobias Penzkofer :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: pt at bwh.harvard.edu
  57. Steve Pieper :: Isomics, Inc. :: pieper at isomics.com
  58. Csaba Pinter :: Queen's University :: csaba.pinter at queensu.ca
  59. Marcel Prastawa :: General Electric :: marcel.prastawa at ge.com
  60. Somia Pujol :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: spujol at bwh.harvard.edu
  61. Adam Rankin :: Queen's University :: rankin at queensu.ca
  62. Aymeric Reshef :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: areshef at bwh.harvard.edu
  63. Tammy Riklin Raviv :: Ben-Gurion University :: rrtammy at ee.bgu.ac.il
  64. Rahul Sastry :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: rahul_sastry at hms.harvard.edu
  65. Peter Savadjiev :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: petersv at bwh.harvard.edu
  66. Gregory Sharp :: Massachusetts General Hospital :: gcsharp at mgh.harvard.edu
  67. Emylin Sousa :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: emylin.sousa at gmail.com
  68. Ramesh Sridharan :: Massachusetts Institute of Technology :: rameshvs at csail.mit.edu
  69. Clare Tempany :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: ctempany at bwh.harvard.edu
  70. Matthew Toews :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: mt at bwh.harvard.edu
  71. Ethan Ulrich :: University of Iowa :: ethan-ulrich at uiowa.edu
  72. Tamas Ungi :: Queen's University :: ungi at queensu.ca
  73. Kevin Wang :: Princess Margaret Cancer Centre :: kevin.wang at rmp.uhn.ca
  74. David Welch :: University of Iowa :: david-welch at uiowa.edu
  75. Sandy Wells :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: sw at bwh.harvard.edu
  76. Jason White :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: white at bwh.harvard.edu
  77. Alexander Yarmarkovich :: Isomics, Inc. :: alexy at bwh.harvard.edu
  78. Ryan Young :: Seattle Children's Research Institute :: ryan.young at seattlechildrens.org
  79. Paolo Zaffino :: Magna Græcia University of Catanzaro :: p.zaffino at unicz.it
  80. Chenxi Zhang :: Brigham and Women's Hospital :: chenxizhang at fudan.edu.cn
  81. Fan Zhang :: University of Sydney :: fzha8048 at uni.sydney.edu.au