Difference between revisions of "2016 Summer Project Week/Workshop on Shared Software Platform for Ultrasound-Guided Medical Interventions"

From NAMIC Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 36: Line 36:
* Tamas Ungi
* Tamas Ungi
* David Black
* David Black
* Lauren O'Donnell

Revision as of 08:31, 22 June 2016

Home < 2016 Summer Project Week < Workshop on Shared Software Platform for Ultrasound-Guided Medical Interventions


Several groups have developed ultrasound-guided intervention systems in the last two decades but until recently these groups have worked mostly in parallel, independently from each other. The Image Guided Systems Inter-Operability (IGSIO) group was founded in 2016 January after lengthy discussions regarding the standardization of tracked ultrasound communication to work towards improving the interoperability between industrial products and research software platforms. See more information about this effort at http://igsio.github.io/.

The goal of this workshop is to promote the concept and practice of a shared software platform for ultrasound-guided interventions. Participants will learn, in practice, to build clinical applications using software platform tools.

Tentative agenda (keep checking this page for more details)

  • 9-10am: Introduction of existing open-source infrastructure for building ultrasound-guided intervention systems
    • Plus/SlicerIGT/3DSlicer (Andras Lasso)
    • CustusX
    • IBIS
  • 10.30am-12pm: Bring your own problem - discussion of implementation options for specific clinical procedures using open-source platforms.
    • EM needle guidance in breast brachytherapy (Thomas Vaughan)
    • Tracked ultrasound guided lumpectomy (Tamas Ungi)
    • <add your name and clinical application here>
  • Afternoon: Hands-on session for setting up prototype systems for ultrasound guidance and tool navigation.


No registration is required, just add your name to the participant list below or send an email to Andras Lasso (lasso@queensu.ca).


  • Christian Askeland
  • Janne Beate Bakeng
  • Longquan Chen
  • Simon Drouin
  • Jon Eiesland
  • Thomas Kirchner
  • Adam Rankin
  • Ole Vegard Solberg
  • Junichi Tokuda
  • Sarah Frisken
  • Bojan Kocev
  • Ines Machado
  • Tamas Ungi
  • David Black
  • Lauren O'Donnell